Music News

Apple Music announces LookAtUps as the Up Next artist in South Africa

Rapper LookAtUps (real name Aphelele Klimbashe), has been named the next recipient of Apple Music’s Up Next program for October, a local version of their global emerging artist platform which they launched early in 2021.

“Honoured to be spotlighted as the Apple Music’s Up Next artist for South Africa. isiXhosa never sounded this good!” he tells Apple Music.

Born and raised in Cape Town’s largest township, Khayelitsha, the 21-year-old rapper shunned the social pitfalls of gangsterism that are rife where he grew up, opting instead to throw himself into the music industry by releasing his compelling debut single “Gibela” (2017). 

With his heritage firmly intertwined with his music, fusing his Xhosa mother tongue and culture with trap and Afro-pop, while simultaneously drawing inspiration from artists like SA hip hop stalwart, Anatii and Nigerian superstar performer, Wizkid.

By creating music that directly appealed to him and his crew, LookAtUps slowly and steadily began to build a following, ultimately recognised for his unique sound by being booked to perform at the lauded CottonFest, Seize the City CPT, Capsule Fest, the Ivyson Tour, and Sneaker Exchange. His new single “Location” (2023), available to stream on Apple Music, is a testament to his versatility as he layers punch-packing lyrics atop a captivating beat, all wrapped in his signature timbre.

As the newest Up Next artist to be spotlighted in South Africa, Mia will be featured across Apple Music’s South African Up Next playlist The curated Up Next playlist features a dynamic class of new and emerging artists, thoughtfully hand-picked by Apple Music editors from around the world.The playlist is genre agnostic and represents a line-up of artists our global editors are passionate about and eager to expose to a larger audience. 

The vast global Up Next roster of past talent includes Grammy-nominated and critically lauded talent like 6lack, Daniel Caesar, H.E.R., Greta Van Fleet, Khalid, Amy Shark, Billie Eilish, Sabrina Claudio, Sigrid, Mr Eazi, Stefflon Don, Bad Bunny, Juice WLRD, Bazzi, Jax Jones, NCT 127, Summer Walker, Tierra Whack, Dean Lewis, Pink Sweat$, Koffee, Megan Thee Stallion, Burna Boy, Clairo, Lunay, Jessie Reyez, Orville Peck, Victoria Monét, Ingrid Andress, Conan Gray, Don Toliver, Rema, BENEE, Holly Humberstone, Natanael Cano, Givēon, beabadoobee, Arlo Parks, Tate McRae, Fousheé and Tems.

Related Articles

Back to top button